Archive for October, 2010

a serving game

Leave a Comment

a game

Leave a Comment

Warming up

Leave a Comment

A game, won

School has a track meet that morning, so all the yellow buses ..

Leave a Comment

Serving

Leave a Comment

My serve

Leave a Comment

Timed match

Rules for unfinished matches – not completed within allotted time; usually happens with Manhattan league because it’s only 1.5 hours (at 2014 captains meeting, league is asking if we’d like to pay more for 2-hr play time):

FIVE MINUTE RULE: if 5 minutes or more remain before the end of the match, you MUST start and attempt to complete the next game. If less than 5 minutes remain, do NOT start a new game.

A game in progress at the end of the time period is stopped and not counted. A tie-break in progress should be completed unless circumstances make it impossible to do so (players are waiting to use the courts, club maintenance staff is waiting for the courts or the club turns off the lights).

You could chew up the clock with 90 second change over allowance: i.e. 6 minutes and 30 seconds left on the clock on your change over, you can shorten the change over and start next game if your opponents agree (if you’re losing by one game..) or call it night (if you’re leading..) – the reasons are – see below.

For Unfinished Matches, if the match ends under the following circumstances, the scoring is as follows:

  • In the 3rd set 10 pt tiebreak (also counts as a game and a set): Every attempt should be made to finish the 3rd set tie break unless impractical (see above). If the tiebreak is not completed, then the match is a tie with split sets. An incomplete 3rd set tie break does not count. i.e. 6-4, 2-3, 9-3
  • Split sets, with no time left to start the 3rd set tiebreak: The points for that court are split. i.e. 5-7 and 6-1
  • If the 2nd set is unfinished: Only completed games count.
    1. The team that won the first set, and the score is a tie or on serve in 2nd set, wins all the points.
    2. The team that won the first set and is ahead in the 2nd set by 1 break or more, wins all the points.
    3. The team that won the first set but is losing the 2nd set by 1 break or more, points are split.
    4. A game in progress at the end of the time period is not counted.

.
___________________

Leave a Comment

B and D

Words of the day: bumped and disqualified.

Two little words that maybe affect a team in terms of advancing to the Nationals or not:

The league allows self rate if player did not play for (I think 2 or 3 years). Self raters can get DQ easier than computer rated. Computer rated people can also get DQ in mid season. I know a guy who was rated (by a verifier) back several years as a 3.0. The player insisted that he was a 3.5 [sounds a lot like Irene :)] and the verifier said NO. Well, he went to Sectionals (upstate) and got DQ!!! Now you see how fair that was. I also know another guy recently that appealed his rating down to a 3.5 after he got bumped up to 4.0. The team went to sectionals, won and would have gone to Nationals and this guy got DQ and all the points taken away from the team and they did not go to Nationals.

You can play at any level that you want, however, when the stakes are high, and you go further on to regional, sectionals, anyone can get DQ. At those competition, your performance is visual as well as the scores.

Leave a Comment

Protected: The Gang of Four

This content is password protected. To view it please enter your password below:

Enter your password to view comments.

Problems we encountered ..

~ 2011 Friend at Court
~ Part 2, The Code

 

Grunt .. ..what to do when the opponent interprets it as an OUT call?


.

  • In ball called out

your opponent’s mistake was to call the ball “Out” instead of saying “Bounce it”.

If you look in the Friend at Court, the 7 pages long fm 2011, read item 14 which refers back to item 12.

12. Out calls reversed. A player who calls a ball out shall reverse the call if the player becomes uncertain or realizes that the ball was good. The point goes to the opponent and is not replayed. However, when a receiver reverses a fault call on a serve that hit the net, the server is entitled to two serves.
13. Player calls own shots out. With the exception of the first serve, a player should call out the player’s own shots if the player clearly sees the ball out regardless of whether requested to do so by an opponent. The prime objective in making calls is accuracy. All players should cooperate to attain this objective.
14. Partners’ disagreement on calls. If one partner calls the ball out and the other partner sees the ball good, they shall call it good. It is more important to give opponents the benefit of the doubt than to avoid possibly hurting a partner’s feelings. The tactful way to achieve the desired result is to tell a partner quietly of the mistake and then let the partner concede the point. If a call is changed from out to good, the principles of Code § 12 apply.

If your opponent had said “Bounce it”, there would be no issue. As long as the ball was returned, you would need to keep playing the point.

So, next time this happens, politely tell your opponent that they should never use the word “Out” when they are trying to warn their partner and then tell them you’re taking the point because they disagreed.

  1. Over a line call, Dec 23, 2012
  2. Out, stop, oops, I’m sorry, Dec 10, 2012
  3. In ball called out, July 26, 2012

.
Back to Top

.

Yes, you can call ..

.
Back to Top

.

.. .. Opponents were kind of tricky and did a lot of talking so after they won the first set, they kept talking so we ended up in second set at 5/5. At one point I had to say let’s play.

  1. Sorry, you’re on your own .. , Jan 15, 2011
  2. Cheating, is always an option, Jan 3, 2012

.
Back to Top

.

  • During a match what if we lose two balls? Do we continues with the remaining ball or the home team opens another can?  March 3, 2010

There is nothing in the rules to cover this. So that will be up to the 2 teams that did not keep track of their balls & captains to decide if they want to open a new can & have both teams split the cost for a can of balls, which is less than $1.50/team.

That is why I always buy 4-ball cans (Dunlops) for my matches. It is easier for warm-up also now that both sides will have 2 to hit with.

.
Back to Top

.

  • To use new balls to warm up or not?

Jan 2010: As we opened a new can of balls, our opponents insisted on NOT using them for warmups. They insisted on using old half-dead balls they picked up from the neighboring ball cart. They wanted to “save” the new balls for the match and were adamant about that. We ignored them and integrated them into the warmup with the other balls. I didn’t think anything of it until I heard that our female opponent complained about it after the match was over. So what’s the official word? I don’t think it s rule that you have to use the new balls, but it’s our perogative – right?

It seems rather stupid to get used to dead balls and then have to re-adjust to new ones during match time. There’s no official word.

My suggestion: use the new balls.

.
Back to Top


.

The league allows self rate if player never played, or didn’t play for (I think 2 or 3 years). Self raters can get DQ easier than computer rated. Computer rated people can also get DQ in mid season. I know a guy who was rated (by a verifier) back several years as a 3.0. The player insisted that he was a 3.5 [sounds a lot like Irene 🙂 ] and the verifier said NO. Well, he went to Sectionals (upstate) and got DQ!!! Now you see how fair that was. I also know another guy recently that appealed his rating down to a 3.5 after he got bumped up to 4.0. The team went to sectionals, won and would have gone to Nationals and this guy got DQ and all the points taken away from the team and they did not go to Nationals.

You can play at any level that you want, however, when the stakes are high, and your team goes deeper/further, to regional, sectionals, anyone can get DQ. At those competition, your performance is visual as well as the scores.

.
Back to Top

Leave a Comment

Older Posts »